A Really Good Bed-Camp Breakfast

For the last few weeks I’ve been eating Chobani lowfat lemon yogurt with fruit for breakfast or lunch. Whole Foods sells a pretty fruit salad, with blueberries, raspberries, blackberries and strawberries and it’s perfect served atop the yogurt. Nice, healthy and colorful…and very delicious, not to mention fun to arrange on a plate.

Earlier this week, I found a ‘Mediterranee’ coconut yogurt from Liberte’. O.M.G. This yogurt with my fruit combo elevated my simple but very good breakfast to dessert status. If you’re a coconut lover like me, you will go to heaven for a little visit while you enjoy this. I think I had it four or five times this week. And no ‘pleasures of diminishing returns’. It was as good today as it was at the beginning of the week. Yum.

Too Good to be True

Too Good to be True

Too good to be true — healthy yogurt, so so tasty and so easy to put together?

Yeah, turns out it was.

Rinsing out the yogurt container today, I saw on the back of the 6 ounce container that it once held 260 calories, 120 from fat and 90 mg. of sodium. Off the charts compared to most other brands and not something I will allow myself to partake with such frequency.

I could play around with substituting plain lower-calorie yogurt and adding shredded coconut, but instead, I will reserve that wonderful Liberte’ coconut yogurt and fruit salad treat for Bed-Camp days and tune-up breakfasts in bed. And I’ll only serve it on my special breakfast china and favorite bed tray.

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

