Take Your Creative Side for a Walk

The latimes.com site ran a piece over the weekend calling attention to a study published in the Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory and Cognition, about how people generate more creative ideas when they walk than when they sit.  (See the latimes.com article)

I’m going to take a wild guess that none of those participants in the study were on the phone, or texting or checking emails while they were walking.

DSC_0561

Living in New York, I don’t own a car. I carry a Metro card for rainy and very cold days or when I’m way out of my neighborhood or have shopped too much to carry it all home. I rarely take a cab. This city is made for walking and I do a lot of it. And while I don’t claim it makes me more creative, it does clear and calm my mind, helps me work things out in my head, and generally makes me feel better.

It’s a bright sunny day but it’s supposed to rain for the next three. Getting out now.

Find a pair of comfortable walking shoes.

Revisit a Bed Camp post- Borrow a baby … or a dog

Leave a Reply

