Getting Ready to be Ready.

Clocks change-over this weekend and Spring arrives shortly after. I should be starting my Spring routine. Hard to do in the middle of a snow storm. Still, I have to do something to start, to get my head in a new direction, to convince myself that Spring will come and it won’t still be snowing in July.

But what clutter can I attack sitting on the couch in the middle of a snowstorm, which is where I want to be right now? Computer clutter, of course.

Holiday and vacation pictures have been transferred to the hard drive, as have too many pictures of snowy scenes. Winter meals have been documented.  So, my first clutter task is to organize hundreds of pictures, deleting the blurry ones, the dupes (I love burst mode), creating new albums and making sure everything is backed up. It always takes longer than I think it will.

On to clearing out the mail box, reading, saving, deleting, unsubscribing to mails I don’t want anymore. I’ll hit the reading list next, actually reading the articles I’ve saved or deleting them, then move on to the way-too-many bookmarks that have built up in the file. And, though I try to save things electronically (Evernote is my favorite clipper), there are still clippings sitting in a desk drawer. The JotNotPro app is a scanner I can use on my iPhone that is quick and easy and useful. Love it.

For the fun part, on to iTunes. Soon enough I’ll be on the river bike path and new playlists are in order. Spring music…happy, bouncy, full of anticipation.

This start should get my head in the right mindset when Spring does finally appear and bigger jobs will need to be dealt with. But for now, clearing clutter from the couch suits me just fine.

Leave a Reply

